top of page
Search
  • robertnungary

"A MOMENT EVERY DAY (ROBERT'S THEME)" by Evan


"A MOMENT EVERY DAY (ROBERT'S THEME)" by Evan

Evan Guest #1 | Posted: 17 Sep 2008 13:31 I am a songwriter/DJ and producer. I have written a song lyric for Robert which you can find posted below. But first, a little history lesson...please take the time to read and honour our beloved friend:

For those who don't know me, my name is Evan Steer and I met Robert in the final 2 years of his life here in Hong Kong. We met when I opened a small business (a hybrid bar/club) with my partner across the street from his apartment building. The business struggled for quite some time and with barely enough funds to start-up, it was touch and go as the unpayable maintainance costs (which we foolishly didn't have enough of) began to flood in. Things were looking grim and I even started researching online how to file for bankruptcy- just in case.

During this time, Robert was amongst the very first few who not only braved into the bar when no-one else ever came, but he remained there talking to myself and my business partner for hours, keeping seats warm and coming back almost day after day- bringing along the occasional group of friends to help combat our 'ghost town' image and encourage passersby to wander in and take a look for themselves.

Robert was funny, caring and re-assuring but most of all as the weeks passed, became a dear friend. He was a beacon of hope to two 1st time business owners who were over their heads.

As things slowly started to pick up at the business, Robert always believed in what we were doing. As a businessman himself, he saw my vision for the venue long before I think even my business partner did! He was truly the first one who 'got' what it was I was trying to do. I just hadn't got there yet purely because lack of finances to afford advertising to pull in the crowds to do what I really wanted the business to do.

Eventually a nearby competing business suffered a setback which worked to my advantage. With just a tiny sliver of funds I had just one shot to come up with a campaign to turn my business around.

I showed the concept to Robert and he stopped, look me straight in the eye and said "From one business owner to another I have to tell you...this is gold".

I wasn't sure because I had so much riding on it and I didn't want to get my hopes up. If I blew this, there would be no money for a second chance as that money would have to go to our debtors who were breathing down my neck as I'd stalled for 6 months too long. It was a one-shot goal I had to score or it would be game over.

Turns out Robert was right. Since that first successful print-ad, my business has never looked back. Robert saw my success long before anyone else did. I had found someone who truly believed in me. Which is why the staff always joked he was my bar's #1 VIP.

And he'll always be.

So, it through his undying loyalty and strength of character, that this song is born...in memory of a great man who gave everything he could....especially to those who never asked, but needed it most.

This is for you, Robert...thank you from all my heart for being there. It's now my turn to do the same for you...and through this song, I now know how.

"A MOMENT EVERY DAY (ROBERT'S THEME)"

VERSE 1 & 2: Robert, I miss you Since it's been your time to go How could I ever know It had to be so Heart breakin'

Friend of mine Since you left my life How could I ever know The pain would be so Embracin'

PRE-CHORUS: But I... Know I must try To keep you alive That's why I... Believe you're still here 'Cos I have found a way...

CHORUS: In my mind For a little while I close eyes And remember your smile Every day I will make some time for you Now and forever

2ND CHORUS: In my dreams I will see you there Laughing away Without a care 'Cos every night I will find a path to you So we'll be together

We'll be together We'll be together We'll be together Me and you hey-ay-ay A moment every day

A moment A moment every day

3rd and 4th VERSE: Robert, I feel you Still deep inside my heart 'Cos you were there for me In my time of need Yeah you noticed

Friend indeed You gave me the strength to fight To prove that I was right Never doubt myself Just focus

2ND PRE-CHORUS: So I... Will never deny Your spirit's still alive So when I go to work The darkness of my hurt Is protected by your light

Because...

REPEAT BOTH CHORUS'S

BRIDGE: You will never be Far from memory A moment every day is all I need to feel You will always be with me Alive, alive, alive, alive, alive, alive, alive, alive...as long as...

REPEAT CHOURS'S and AD LIB to FADE.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Laura

By Laura Wilkes 8 février 2014 Miss your smile. Miss your laugh. Miss you so very much. Laurent LG 7 février much love and thinking about you... Laura Wilkes, Erica Fishlin Fox, Joshua Fox love it.

Paul Guevara

By Paul Guevara 7 février Bad Monkey!!

© 2014 by Family Nungary, Viola, Laurent. In love created 

bottom of page